Working for Smart Growth:
More Livable Places and Open Spaces


2013 Smart Growth Awards

The winners of the 2013 Smart Growth Awards were honored at our annual Smart Growth Awards gala celebration in the Metropolitan Room at the Newark Club, One Newark Center, Newark, N.J., on Thursday, June 6. As the slideshow below indicates, it was a stellar event, including remarks by Asm. Albert Coutinho (D-29), a strong advocate for infrastructure investment and a prime sponsor of the economic incentives legislation currently making its way through the state legislature.

Please enjoy the full photo gallery on New Jersey Future’s Facebook page.

Title Sponsor


New Jersey Future thanks the following 2013 Smart Growth Awards sponsors, whose generous support makes it possible to celebrate the best in development and redevelopment projects in the state of New Jersey.

Full-page sponsors: Ironstate Development, McCarter & English LLP, New Jersey Natural Gas, RBH Group LLC, Prudential Financial, Inc.; Half-page sponsors: Atlantic City Electric, Conifer Realty, Goldman Sachs Bank, PNC Bank, PSEG, TD Bank and Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf; Quarter-page sponsors: Edison Properties, The Edwards Family, Genova Burns Giantomasi & Webster, Hillside Square LLC, Investors Bank, New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency, Sills Cummis and Gross PC, Wilentz Goldman & Spitzer PA, Wolff & Samson PC, Woodmont Properties; Eighth-page sponsors: AvalonBay Communities, Inc., Bayshore Recycling Corporation, Biggins Lacy Shapiro, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC, Cooper Health Systems, ENVIRON International Corp.,  Gibbons PC, Greenbaum Rowe Smith & Davis LLP, Jack Lettiere Consulting, Kitchen and Associates, Minno & Wasko Architects and Planners, National Realty & Development Corp., New Jersey Community Capital, New Jersey Economic Development Authority, Panasonic Corporation, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Pennrose Properties, Terhune Orchards.

Since 2002, New Jersey Future has honored nearly 80 projects with Smart Growth Awards. Winners are selected from a statewide public nomination process by an independent jury of professional developers, architects, planners and redevelopment experts.

Four innovative projects and three visionary plans comprise the list of winners of New Jersey Future’s 2013 Smart Growth Awards. Chosen from a pool of 23 entries, the winners are:

CategoryInclusive Transportation Policy
WinnerCOMPLETE STREETS POLICY, State of New Jersey
PartnersNew Jersey Department of Transportation, Parsons Brinckerhoff, The RBA Group

CategoryCreative Adaptive Re-Use
WinnerHILLSIDE SQUARE, Montclair
PartnersHillside Square LLC, Jack Finn & Co. Building Contractors, RHG Architecture & Design,
Sionas Architecture PC

CategoryCommunity-Driven Affordable Housing Plan
PartnersJersey City Housing Authority, Montgomery Gardens Resident Management Corp.,
New Jersey City University

Category: Holistic Transportation Plan
PartnersCounty of Passaic, Parsons Brinckerhoff, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority

Category: Innovative Land-Preservation Strategy
Winner: POMPTON RIVERWALK, Pequannock
Partners: The Land Conservancy of New Jersey, Pequannock Township

CategorySchool-Based Neighborhood Revitalization
PartnersBrick City Development Corporation, Goldman Sachs Bank, New Jersey Community Capital, Prudential Insurance Company of America,  RBH Group LLC, TD Bank

CategoryTransit-Oriented Infill Redevelopment
WinnerWHITMAN PARK, Camden
Partners: City of Camden, Parkside Business and Community in Partnership; Conifer Realty


This year’s recipient of the Cary Edwards Leadership Award, given to an individual who has done outstanding work to improve the quality of life in New Jersey, is Diane Sterner, the founding executive director of the Housing and Community Development Network of New Jersey.

Judging the entries was a panel of eight jurors:

  • Pam Mount, New Jersey Future trustee and proprietor of Terhune Orchards in Lawrenceville (chairwoman);
  • Eileen Swan, New Jersey Future trustee and policy manager for the New Jersey Conservation Foundation;
  • Larry DiVietro, New Jersey Future trustee and president of Land Dimensions Engineering in Glassboro;
  • Rebecca Feldman, member of the Morristown Town Council;
  • John Hasse, chairman of the department of geography at Rowan University in Glassboro;
  • Daniel Hernandez, director of planning practice for Jonathan Rose Companies in New York;
  • Monique King-Viehland, president of Campus Gateway Development at the New Jersey Institute of Technology in Newark;
  • Kevin Wilkes, principal of Princeton Design Guild



© New Jersey Future, 16 W. Lafayette St. • Trenton, NJ 08608 • Phone: 609-393-0008 • Fax: 609-360-8478

Are you receiving our Future Facts newsletter?

  • Latest news on land-use policy issues
  • Research and reports
  • Upcoming events
  • Every two weeks

Click to subscribe